The 9th Soul

Happy New Year Exercise: Kettlebells and Running

Posted in health, life by Fated Blue on January 1, 2014

This isn’t me but I sure wish I can run with my kettlebells like that. And that body is my goal! (or something near that)

It’s been 3 consecutive years since I last saw the new year arrive. I used to stay up all the way until I can no longer find the strength to open my eyes. Now, for the past 3 years, I’ve always preferred to greet it with the sun shining down on my face. I often sleep like 2 hours before midnight amidst the sonorous explosions and roaring fireworks displays. But I’ve learned to sleep through such noise levels (I’m a very, very good sleeper LOL).

I’ve always trained with kettlebells often in the morning and I rarely run since I found running a bit out of my preference this past year. But today was my New Year exercise and I always end it with running. It’s my thing: I believe I was born to run and I only learned how to lift stuff. I was always running before I discovered kettlebell training and today I chose to go back to my roots.

Today’s workout involved my new Ladderplex B. I did this for 20 minutes (with a rest or two) but I found out that, since I started with them a week ago, I’ve gotten better with using them, stronger even. I began to feel less stressed and less fatigued compared to when I first attempted my new ladderplexes. I used to run short on my last sets with them, requiring me to drop the bells and catch a breather before I finish the last half of the set which I usually finish to completion back when I was still doing my old ladderplexes.

After a good 20 minutes of kettlebells, I then hopped on my old running shoes, activated my GPS and Sportypal Pro app and went out and about! I was able to finish a meager 4.2 km in under 28 minutes. I wanted to go faster and farther but I feared my body might give throughout the day and I still needed enough energy to last me a party this afternoon.

This has been a good tradition for me. I’m not sure but I might actually include running in my workouts again at least once a week. I really missed the runner’s high specially with the sun smiling down at me on a cold, January morning.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] I did something for an extra workout in the afternoon. I usually perform my kettlebell exercises in the morning (today I did 100 double swings with 2 x 24 kg, 5 double squats, and 5 presses per arm) and this […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 503 other followers

