The 9th Soul

Appendix is not useless after all – research says

Posted in health, internet news, science by Fated Blue on August 25, 2009

I was happily checking my email when I saw this very interesting article on Yahoo’s frontpage.

It tells about how important the appendix COULD get. Now I am thanking myself for wanting to die as a “whole” that I was able to keep my own appendix for the last 19 years of my life. I just feel sorry for those who JUST got them removed prior to this article. haha.

I quote some delicious copy pasta:

Parker and his colleagues recently suggested that the appendix still served as a vital safehouse where good bacteria could lie in wait until they were needed to repopulate the gut after a nasty case of diarrhea. Past studies had also found the appendix can help make, direct and train white blood cells.

It can be the barracks for our soldiers in white! haha

Leave a Reply

