The 9th Soul

Movie Review: (500) Days of Summer

Posted in entertainment, life by Fated Blue on October 23, 2009

FIRST OFF: WALLPAPER SPAM!

(Every picture shown here has been reduced significantly. Right click and copy image link or image location and go to the said link to get the full size of the pictures)

OFFICIAL WEBSITE

WIKI INFORMATION ABOUT THE MOVIE

IMDB

IMDB QUOTES

Movie synopses:

Boy meets girl
Boy falls in love
Girl doesn’t

This is not a love story…This is a story about love.

When Tom, a hapless greeting card copywriter and hopeless romantic, is blindsided after his girlfriend summer dumps him, he shifts back and forth through various periods of their 500 days “together” to try to figure out where things went wrong. His reflections ultimately lead him to finally rediscover his true passions in life.


PRE-REVIEW:

I was aching to watch this because of the trailers I saw on youtube and the great reviews it received in various websites and through word of mouth. And I have a tendency to want to watch romantic comedies this past year. I watched this at TriNoMa, shortly after classes and after work was done, which was around 10 am in my case. After googling the much needed screening time and schedule of the movie, I went straight to the theater. The first showing of the movie was at 12:00 PM. I arrived at TriNoMa at around 11:00 AM. So to speak, I had just enough time to eat lunch (KFC Go-Go meal + large mashed potatoes) and buy a few movie snacks (Party sized Oishii resealable choco sponge + 1 liter C2 green tea Classic). I finished my tasks at around 11:40 AM. I went to the theater floor, went inside the theater and just adjusted to the ambiance of the whole room. I was the first person to enter, then minutes after, the theater was already half-full (or half-empty). I sat at my favorite spot of all: Highest seat, close to middle. I sat near two women, best friends I assumed, who were very open to expressing one’s thoughts and opinions about the movie at hand, i.e. they were pretty talkative. But it was tolerable, save for some sexy scenes, adult remarks, and the occasional funny moments.

SPOILERS HERE HENCEFORTH

CAST:

Wonderful cast of characters. Most were relatively new to me. Tom, the main male character, was played by actor Joseph Gordon-Levitt while the very gorgeous and very cute Summer was played by Zooey Deschanel, who I currently have as a new crush. I specially love the character of Tom’s sister Rachel. She was meant as a parody to the stereotype that kids don’t know what life is. She’s the most mature character in the movie. She gives advices, life speeches, realizations, and the occasional quip to make the character flourish.

Joseph reminded me of the late Heath Ledger while I watched the film. “It has to be the eyes” I told myself. Also, because of the fact that the two actors once worked together in a hard to forget film called “10 Things I Hate About You“. The only bad thing about him getting the main role is that I really can’t forget the fact that he once played as an adolescent on 3rd Rock from the Sun. I just can’t help but remember how his teenage years were even though he’s quite old in the movie. It’s just me I guess. Had I chose someone else, it would’ve been someone who is rarely known for playing teen roles.

The supporting characters were well played as well, although I barely recognize some of them.

8/10

STORY/PLOT:

The movie was all about a guy who thinks he fell in love with the woman of his life, how he fell out her life, how he tries to get over her and fail multiple times, and how he finally acknowledged the fact that she may be the one for him, but he may not be the one for her. The movie shows his happiness, his grief, his “getting over” period, and “moving on” period with a series of comedic takes and humor implied scenes.

I fell in love with the way the movie was written and directed. It was very new yet very familiar at the same time. I specially love the fact that it was about a guy who got dumped by the girl of his dreams and his exploits on how he wanted her back and, soon after realizing it was really over, how he tries to get his (real) life back on track. I can personally relate to this film. I almost got teary eyed when right before the film ends, where Tom has finally moved on and Summer was married to someone, they found each other reminiscing their past atop a hill overlooking the city. They sat together and…just watch it! I can’t spoil this scene even if I wanted to. It was too sad yet fulfilling to watch. I found it pretty hard to endure, which indicates how I’ve fallen in love with the characters over a short period of time.

So far as plot is concerned: 9/10. -1 because the plot wasn’t really new at all. Should’ve been an 8/10, but the way it was presented to the audience was very satisfactory.

MUSIC:

This film featured a 5 minute dance scene, depicting Tom’s happiness of finally having someone he’s sure to be the one. Oh yeah, it was also the morning after he got her lying naked in his bed. I’d be pretty happy myself if I woke up one morning to realize that I just had the best sex with the best girl possible.

I barely know the songs featured, but I found it cool enough for the movie and mood the movie was in. I can’t rate this one properly, but I’ll give it an  8/10.  Just because I think the music really soothed the film.

Script/Dialogue:

One of the memorable parts of the film. It was well written and well said. Each sentenced had humor implied. Although some require a little bit of imagination and/or idea of what the humor was based on, i.e. a picture made fun of but you have no idea why it was being made fun of. Sometimes you also have to keep a keen eye on the surroundings while they do the humor parts. You’d be missing a lot if you didn’t. It’s like getting only half the joke.

8/10 for this one.


Runtime:

The movie ran for about 95 minutes. It was too short for me. There were a few instances wherein the film could’ve used more time in explaining a certain scene or two. You actually HAD to be keeping watchful eyes and script sensitive ears to actually understand the reasons why some scenes were shown and how the scene was related to the previous scene.

7/10. It was supposed to be a 6 or 5, but seeing that I did understand the whole movie’s way of showing the scenes, I scored it higher. If it were up to me, I’d make the film run for about 105 minutes, just 15 minutes shy of 2 hours.

Re-watchability:

I would’ve watched the film again if not for the time constraints, thesis, studies and whatnots.

10/10

Buy worthiness:

The film’s DVD and Blu-ray release would be on December 22 2009. As quoted from a very credible fansite:

The Blu-Ray and DVD release date for 500 Days of Summer is December 22! If you don’t have a Blu-Ray player, buy for one for the holidays because the Blu-Ray edition is a Special 2-Disc Set, loaded with exclusive bonus features!

DVD and Blu-Ray both contain:

Commentary with Director Marc Webb, Writer Michael Weber, Co-Writer Scott Neustadter, and Actor Joseph Gordon-Levitt

Lost Days of Summer: Deleted and Extended Scenes With Optional Commentary by Director Marc Webb, Writer Michael Weber, Co-Writer Scott Neustadter and Actor Joseph Gordon-Levitt. Deleted Scenes:

—”Love Testimonials”
—”I Think We Should Stop Seeing Each Other”
—”Family Dinner” (Day 11)
—”Paul Meets Summer”
—”Tom and Summer Argue”
—”Tom in the Movie Theatre” (Day 286)
—”The Worst Morning Ever”
—”Tom Sees Summer Everywhere” (Day 306)
—“Date With Allison” (Day 345)

Exclusive to Blu-Ray:

Note: The Blu-Ray edition contains two discs: one with the bonus features and the other contains the digital edition of 500 Days of Summer

• Not A Love Story – Making (500) Days of Summer
• Summer At Sundance
• Two Audition Tapes With Optional Commentary By Director Marc Webb
—Geoffrey Arend (”McKenzie”)
—Matthew Gray Gubler (”Paul”)
• Summer Storyboards
Bank Dance Directed By Marc Webb
Mean’s Cinemash: “Sid and Nancy/(500) Days of Summer
Music Video: “Sweet Disposition” By Temper Trap
• Six Conversations With Zooey and Joseph
• Filmmaking Specials

I’ll probably end up watching the Blu-ray version on Youtube though. I’ll be sure to buy the DVD one.

Trivia: There are videos which were filmed before the movie released.

The first video is about a dance scene at a bank which was never shown in the movie. It’s very cute.

The second video’s about a certain dialogue in the movie. It was made prior to the movie’s release though. It’s quite funny.

Some quotes I’d like to share courtesy of IMDB

Tom: People don’t realize this, but loneliness is underrated.

Rachel Hansen: Just because she’s likes the same bizzaro crap you do doesn’t mean she’s your soul mate.

Author’s Note: The following is a work of fiction. Any resemblance to persons living or dead is purely coincidental. Especially you Jenny Beckman. Bitch.

Partygoer: So Tom, what is it that you do?
Tom: I uh, I write greeting cards.
Summer: Tom could be a really great architect if he wanted to be.
Partygoer: That’s unusual, I mean, what made you go from one to the other?
Tom: I guess I just figured, why make something disposable like a builing when you can make something that last forever, like a greeting card.

Summer: We’ve been like Sid and Nancy for months now.
Tom: Summer, Sid stabbed Nancy, seven times with a kitchen knife, I mean we have some disagreements but I hardly think I’m Sid Vicious.
Summer: No I’m Sid.
Tom: Oh, so I’m Nancy…
[Pancakes arrive]
Summer: Let’s just eat and we’ll talk about it later. Mmm, that is good, I’m really glad we did this. I love these pancakes… what?
[Tom gets up and walks away from the table]
Summer: Tom, don’t go! You’re still my best friend!

Narrator: This is a story of boy meets girl. But you should know up front, this is not a love story.

Summer: You weren’t wrong, Tom. You were just wrong about me.

Vance: [reading a card that Tom has written] Roses are red, violets are blue… Fuck you, whore!

Tom: Paul, seriously…
Paul: Did you bang her?
Tom: No!
Paul: Blow job?
Tom: No!
Paul: Hand job?
Tom: No, Paul, no jobs. I’m still unemployed. We just kissed.

Paul: Robin is better than the girl of my dreams. She’s real.

And the line that really almost made me cry. It’s the scene wherein they see each other and Tom asks why he didn’t know she was already seeing somebody else, which eventually led to their marriage. Really made my eyes stare at this part. So heart breaking.

Summer: I woke up one morning and I just knew.
Tom: Knew what?
Summer: What I was never sure of with you.

You really have to watch the whole movie, not just the scene, to actually feel the whole gravity of this line.

OVERALL SCORE: 9/10

This movie is really for those who have had one of the worse experience in love: to be pulled in by someone you taught was the perfect person in your life, then suddenly leave you right in while that person gets up and walks away with someone else.

I really enjoyed watching this movie. It’s worth every second and cent you will spend. It really IS the coolest romantic comedy of the year!

Last but not least: Very Hi-Res pic of Tom and Summer.

If I ever laid my eyes in front of a woman like Zooey Deschanel, or even the character she portrays, I would just faint because of the beauty she would possess in front of me.

Thanks for reading! Watch this film, it really is great.

This is not a love story…This is a story about love.

Leave a Reply

