The 9th Soul

Front Mission 3.Rural Village.ePSXe.Fix.

Posted in life, Random, technology by Fated Blue on December 24, 2009

Best Front Mission game so far

So I’ve been replaying games I really loved when the PSX was out. My old PSX lost it’s function already so I opted for an emulator. I can’t post links to an emulator but it’s called the ePSXe. Just google it.

Anyway, one of my favorite PSX games of all time would have to be Front Mission 3. It’s this cool RPG-Mecha-Turn based-Strategy game which I thought was very advanced at the time of its conception and release.

I was playing the game on my emulator when the game suddenly CRASHED when the mission for the Rural Village was next. This was in Emma’s story mode right after Yingko. I found out that almost the entirety of the people who were replaying the game also had the same problem, if not more. As I tried to search for ways to fix this little bug, I googled myself a few possible solutions.

1. Update the plugins of the emulator

2. Change the emulator

3. Fix the emulator

4. Look for my original copy of the game

5. Download a “cleaner” version

I’m pleased to say that I did all of the steps above with the last step taking too much of my time and almost had me give up on the game. Why you ask? I got at least 3 “other” copies of the game. Two of which are from a torrent site. One of them was said to work perfectly for the PSP (They were PSX-PSP versions, all I had to do was extract the ISO and it was playable via ePSXe) but when I finally played it, it was still bugged. The other one sucked at seeds that it took me almost 7 hours to have it at 60%. Mind you, the download was only 300+ MB large; you can just imagine my frustration so I eventually had to let it go.

It wasn’t until I saw this site for roms via google in which I saw this particular thread (Yes. I googled hard for this) in which it pointed me to the perfect copy of the game, with the bug that annoyed the hell out of me fixed, rather, made it nonexistent.

I owe my thanks to those guys. In case you’re wondering, I downloaded Aguia’s version. Works well so far. Too bad my characters are already too strong for the current missions. Why? I’ve been practicing and mastering their skills in simulator mode while I let the time pass for my downloads to finish. And yes, I went uber because of the Fukushima stage in TEST mode.

UPDATE: Since SOR is dead, here is the version I’ve used. It is still via Aguia. I used google cache but it seems Aguia is still active if I were to base this on his very recent update of PSX ISO list.

http://uploading.com/files/227df2c3/SLUS01011.by.Aguia.part1.rar
http://uploading.com/files/e32bddab/SLUS01011.by.Aguia.part2.rar
http://uploading.com/files/5e6c97a6/SLUS01011.by.Aguia.part3.rar

Mirror Uploadstore.net
http://uploadstore.net/9a8d4ywu3z51/SLUS01011.by.Aguia.part1.rar.html
http://uploadstore.net/666vxw8l2qf5/SLUS01011.by.Aguia.part2.rar.html
http://uploadstore.net/bqmpui4wqjp9/SLUS01011.by.Aguia.part3.rar.html

			

23 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Burl Sanches said, on January 17, 2010 at 5:14 pm

    Thanks for this cool post. Anyway i found your blog on yahoo and find it very useful. I’ll be sure to come back again for more!

  2. t0mmy2fa5t said, on September 23, 2010 at 7:09 am

    you are awesome, i could not ever find a clean copy

  3. Anon said, on October 2, 2011 at 4:50 pm

    Ahh you’re a lifesaver. I couldn’t get past the rural village or Xinzhu with my old copy. Thanks!

    • Fated Blue said, on October 2, 2011 at 7:04 pm

      I love it when people replay these games. It makes me think I’m not a freak of nature for saying that these games, in their own ways, are better than the games we have now.

  4. antoniodamala said, on April 9, 2012 at 6:02 am

    I know this is a veeeeeeeeeeeery old thread, but can you please reupload that fixed version? I’m stuck in the same part.

    • Fated Blue said, on April 10, 2012 at 11:42 am

      Damn. I’ll try to up that file sometime this week. Too bad the forum closed.

    • Fated Blue said, on April 10, 2012 at 12:53 pm

      DUDE! I already found them for you! ENJOY!🙂

      • kwailoe said, on April 12, 2012 at 7:10 am

        can i get the link to download it, cz download link above had expired. please bro, i stuck in that place for a long time. thank to you then

      • imstuck said, on April 13, 2012 at 1:39 am

        I cant open the link dude, can you give another one? stuck at the same place

  5. Fated Blue said, on April 15, 2012 at 9:59 pm

    Hmmm…so the links really are dead. I’ll try to contact aguia and maybe have him re-up the files. Otherwise, i’ll look for my copy (it’ll be quite a dig; it’s in one of a bunch of dvd discs)

  6. Genkibakudan said, on April 21, 2012 at 4:32 pm

    try this dudes, it’s a .php file so you have to convert it with PSX2PSP, apparently. I haven’t tried it yet but they say it works…http://thepiratebay.se/torrent/5089319

    • Fated Blue said, on April 22, 2012 at 9:04 pm

      Thanks for helping! I can’t find both the cds and time to upload them.

  7. kwailoe said, on June 21, 2012 at 12:38 pm

    as alternative i’d found other site that have a full playable front mission 3 iso (i have tried it). It’s http://www.doperoms.com/roms/sony_playstation_psx/Front%20Mission%203%20%28USA%29.zip.html/177108/Front%20Mission%203%20%28USA%29.zip.html

    • Silencer said, on July 9, 2012 at 2:15 pm

      Thanks. What version of epsxe are you using?

  8. buundoc said, on July 18, 2012 at 9:13 pm

    i`ll try your suggestion of downloading aguia`s version…I AM SO FRUSTRATED! pinoy kase ako at may part mga pinoy sa front mission 3 kase eh. crashing while in midst of battle is such a drag! had to save all the time and keep fingers crossed for it not to crash

    • buundoc said, on July 18, 2012 at 9:14 pm

      ohh and I use the psx 1.13 not epsxe…such a hassle finding all those plugins…not my bag baby

      • Fated Blue said, on July 18, 2012 at 9:23 pm

        No wonder ur game’s buggy. It’s not that hard, really. Epsxe has its own website which caters to all the updated drivers and such.

  9. wild tom said, on May 9, 2013 at 9:55 pm

    thank you very much..i’m a fan of front mission 3..and you just save me..

  10. Timo said, on August 2, 2013 at 11:27 pm

    It seems the links are dead again, any chance you could put this on a torrent or something instead?

  11. datguy said, on September 9, 2014 at 6:42 pm

    links are dead again please fix

    • Fated Blue said, on September 9, 2014 at 9:29 pm

      Dude, I’ll be honest with you and it’s that I’m not sure if I can find a working link again. It’s better if you go search for it yourself because I haven’t the time today or tomorrow. Best would be the weekends but that would be too long for gamers like us and we can’t wait, now can we?

  12. dejahvoe said, on August 11, 2016 at 7:05 pm

    try this iso, it work
    http://www.freeroms.com/roms/psx/front_mission_3.htm


Leave a Reply

