The 9th Soul

Movie Review: Sherlock Holmes

Posted in entertainment by Fated Blue on January 20, 2010

The official movie poster

I am now a complete fan of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s “Sherlock Holmes” because of this film.

I have little to say about this film, some bad but mostly good. This review will be short.

Review:

I really liked watching this film. I found it witty, funny, and topped with a sense of adventure. It’s been a long time since I saw a detective movie (not to mention seen one in a theater). I never read any of the stories/books but I do know that Sherlock Holmes is the ideal detective one can know.

I liked the way the film touched on the science of magics and tricks back in the era of coal and steam. I also loved the way it adds the darkness of religion and the symbols it uses. Since I’m a fan of such occult subtleties, this was a big plus for me.

The movie was a must watch all in all with a certain problem that I think I’m not the only one suffering from: Robert Downey Jr.’s British accent.

Mind you, his performance was astounding and he really did imitate a Brit in the way he articulated and played with his tongue in the film. The thing was, he would sometimes do it so great that some of the words averted my sense of hearing, more importantly my sense of understanding.

I’ve watched my share of British TV shows and movies plus my mom’s boss is British and we talk alot during friendly meetings at the office. I admit that I sometimes mistake hearing certain words simply because they are spoken by a Brit (Example: “How are you?” vs “Who are you?”).

The accent done by Downey Jr. was, in my own words and thoughts, not “Asian friendly”. Then again, my doctor did say I have bad hearing for my age (20) so my opinions are just subjective that way.

I could’ve ignored a problem with an accent but the main problem was that the movie’s essence mostly relied on what Downey Jr.’s character (Holmes) had to say or his thoughts on the events that were happening but the way Downey played a Brit really had me grasp the movie’s essence by a thread. It was was the ultimate problem I saw, or rather heard. I was sure what he was saying was funny and intuitive but I couldn’t understand the words in the middle of his long sentences. I could take a hint of what the words were but we all like to be spoon fed when we watch movies now don’t we?

With the exception of the problem I experienced with the accent, all in all the movie was great and is a must see. You just really have to have those sharp ears for Holme’s quips. Otherwise, you may not actually enjoy the film at all and you’ll be left with everyone else liking it.

7.5/10

PS: I watched this after my preliminary exams today at Gateway mall in Araneta Center, Cubao which, by the way, has a really nice cineplex. Worth every penny you will ever pay.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] so the first film was awesome too. I first had a problem with Downey Jr.’s accent being too good but this movie made it […]

  2. […] be the fact that I enjoyed watching Robert Downey Jr.’s movies so much and I’m not just pertaining to his Iron Man movies. Plus, Scarlett Johansson is there and I really like her character as much […]


Leave a Reply

