The 9th Soul

Movie Review: The Imaginarium of Dr. Parnassus

Posted in entertainment by Fated Blue on January 28, 2010

A very colorful and inspiring film

I watched this at Gateway mall right after we passed our thesis defense. I knew this film would be stunning but I never thought that it would be visually stunning. It mixes reality with dreams with a hint of desires and the sins that surround them. A must watch on the big screen.

REVIEW: I really enjoyed watching this film. I never expected it to be very magical since I never saw the trailers. Yes, I only saw the poster and thought “Heath Ledger films are always a must watch” and it was everything I expected.

The film’s beginning almost had me confused since I really had no idea what the film would be all about. I’ve never heard of the word “imaginarium” before but I must assume, after watching the film, that it would be some sort of container for imaginations. Imaginations are vast and no two are ever the same. I love the fact that this film explored the way dreams can be the basis of a person’s personality, desires, and the person’s ability to make the right choice despite most losing to temptation. Heath played the role, for the most of it, of a character that seemed to guide people who wonder of inside the mirror into the right path. It’s like having Virgil guide Dante.

I also like the fact that the film explores how one’s dream may cause someone else’s to be overwhelmed or be overcome by it. It shows how something good for one is not always good for everyone.

I also approve of how the film didn’t seem to be very modern by itself. It didn’t focus on technology very much and I find that appealing and a breath of fresh air with modern films nowadays. It combines a classical feel with a modern approach. The film maintained its religious aspect despite the modernism.

The film also wants the audience to learn that life is all about the decisions you make and that a person has complete control over his or her life. The outcome of his life is solely dependent on his or her ability to decide what is good and what is not. Life gives us choices and we always have the freedom to choose what we want.

This film uses a variety of symbols religious or not. I find them too many to mention and I may risk spoiling the film if I exposed them. This movie plays with the person’s imagination and cognitive ability. I know I had my mind filled with questions like “What did that mean? Why put it there? Shoes? Ladders?” then I would suddenly answer them myself.

Clearly one of the few great films with a moral lesson. This film deserves to be watched regardless of Heath Ledger’s death. It’s worth every penny and every second of your time.

Here’s a more professional review

OVERALL: 8/10


2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] We are not claiming to be the original source of this post: View full post on hollywood « WordPress.com Tag Feed […]

  2. […] Source: The 9th Soul […]


Leave a Reply

