The 9th Soul

Book Review: Fallen by Lauren Kate

Posted in Random by Fated Blue on February 26, 2010

Hardbound Cover

I bought this book at a hefty price of P649.00 at National Bookstore. What really brought my interest in this book in the first place was its book cover. It’s so mysterious and the back has this question “What if the person you were meant to be could never be yours?”

The story revolves around a new breed of characters that may rival vampires in the hotness category. I can’t tell you what since it may spoil the plot and stuff.

What I can tell you, however, is that this book is similar to Twilight being that it is a chick-lit. Then again, although I haven’t read Twilight, I can tell the author of this book wrote it far better than the author of Twilight did.

The lines may tend to get cheesy and the descriptions too overwhelming for the regular reader (i.e. not a fan of chick-lit) but the author makes up for it with the plot, the exchange of dialogue, and the way the story just twists and turns.

This is a must-read for chick-lit fans and I figured even regular novel readers (like myself) should give it a chance.

Although I have to tell you the inconvenient truth about this book: It’s terribly slow-paced for the first 10 or so chapters and the book barely has 20, not counting the prologue and epilogue. Before this book, I read and finished the very fast paced “The Lightning Thief ” in a span of 2 days. I didn’t really look forward to finishing this book within the same period of time but it took me 2 days to get to page 130 or something. I read up to page 147 on my first day with “The Lightning Thief”. But the story picks up beyond those chapters. And trust me when I say that the book suddenly becomes a page turner right up to the end.

I know, I know. Don’t scorn me. The two books can’t compare. It’s just that I really found it so slow with all these heavy descriptions. I mean, praise the author for it but maybe she could have written it in a more interesting way. Still, the descriptions helped although I doubt I’ll be remembering half of it, save for the places the characters were often found.

Also, the main character “Lucinda Price” or “Luce” was very bland. Same with Twilight’s Bella. I guess it was a way for the chick-lit readers to easily become Luce. Save for the black hair, pale white skin and the color of her eyes, I can’t bring myself to remember what she looks like. What I did was that I would glance at the cover assuming that the woman with her hands covering her face is Luce. That was what 95% of readers would’ve done anyway.

I would also like to note the fact that this book dwells much on sadness than happiness. Too much sadness can really bore someone out. Maybe because the setting, pretty much all of them, where the story unfolds itself was sad as well. The stories revolving around those settings were also hinted to be sad and tragic. There was like 1 out of 5 situations where the characters were simply being happy, if not being happy despite the grief. This book isn’t really for those who’re looking for a fun thing to read. A bit too serious. Then again, it’s a dark novel to begin with.

This is the first romance novel I’ve read so I can’t exactly say I’m credible to give this a proper score. I still will buy the sequel to the book which is titled “Torment”. Let’s just hope we won’t be tormented when we read it.

OVERALL: 7/10

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Lian said, on May 27, 2010 at 8:33 pm

    Good review, I’ll keep it in mind.🙂

  2. maiy said, on July 10, 2010 at 11:12 pm

    yeah! this book… is awesome!… … im even at first curious about the cover… its so mysterious… scary in way with beauty… but.. wooohhh!… shock me!.. finishd reading it was very good thing i accmplishd… its so very good book! its worth…

  3. marian said, on August 13, 2010 at 5:13 pm

    Nice review. I loved the story, call me dramatic, well yes i am.🙂 I liked twilight too. it isnt lame like everybody else is saying. i enjoy reading such stories. it makes me want to look for my own Daniel Grigori or Edward Cullen. Well, as if they really are real but who knows right?🙂 Anyway, Torment will be out in the stores at September 28 and this, i know for sure, is easy to be out of stock. So might as well get you copies before the due date.🙂

  4. Lee-Anne Govender said, on December 21, 2010 at 7:48 am

    I loved then entire twilight saga. I think people who didnt read the books shouldnt judge it. And yes it may be a chick book but thats what everyone loves..that the characters are relatable..you can lose yourslf in them and live in the story. I loved torment and fallen aswell.. I think that those books are great. Its perfect for teens who want to escape into that fantasy world were thngs that seem perfect do exsist. Its that whole forbidden love that keeps us interested and it may sometimes come across as cheesy..but hey i guess thats why people love it so much. Im speaking from experience. Those books help me escape our messed up world into something so much greater and interesting..

    • Fated Blue said, on August 7, 2011 at 5:47 pm

      You know what? You’re right. But I won’t re-write the review. Why? So I can show the world that I myself admit mistakes and give due credit to those who point them out for me.

      Thank you.

  5. […] I gave the first book a pretty decent score despite my lack of patience when it came to reading Gothic chick-lits (sorry if anyone is offended […]

  6. […] FALLEN […]

  7. […] was horribly slow-paced even for a guy like me who is used to slow-paced books. I just felt like this book didn’t want me to read it. I don’t know, perhaps […]


Leave a Reply

