The 9th Soul

MOVIE REVIEW: Alice in Wonderland 2010

Posted in entertainment by Fated Blue on March 20, 2010

Click to enlarge

I was supposed to see this since opening night but due to much unnecessary work, stress, or both, I was hindered and was forced to prolong my writing of it’s review.

I watched this this early afternoon at The TriNoMa Mall. Surely enough, people still flocked to it despite the new 3D movie “How To Train Your Dragon“.

I must confess, however, that I had very high expectations from this movie. For reasons such as it’s grandeur opening parties (talk about tea parties, premiere parties, and a whole lot of commercials and media streaming), the fact that it’s a Tim Burton film, a really nice classic story with the same name as it’s prequel backing it up, and of course: Johnny Depp. Although Anne Hathaway and a whole roster of good actors and actresses could also carry it beyond other movies, it wouldn’t be as high as a Johnny Depp movie (Which much of it was compared to the time allotted for each character).

That being said, I was really excited to watch this. I got the best seat in the house (Top and Middle) which is how I always watch my movies. But despite the whole concept of the film and the great acting done, I can’t say that I REALLY enjoyed it.

REVIEW

Visuals

The whole movie was a visual art in motion. Everything that was 3D looked very realistic and very eye candy indeed (Which I will always expect from a 3D movie since Finding Nemo. One could not tell whether the person or thing was indeed tangible or not at all. Very stunning visuals as expected from a highly budgeted Hollywood film.

10/10

Sound

Very classic with a touch of modernism imposed on it. The OST in general would be very nice to listen to when you want to hear a sort of opera music. I just really don’t like “Alice” by Avril Lavigne.

She has a nice voice and all but the song itself could’ve been better. The way she sang it sounded forced. If it weren’t for Avril’s power vocals, the song would’ve just irked my ear drums.

8/10

Plot and Story

Okay. This part here is really gonna be inaccurate since I barely remember what the original story was about.  I pretty much entered the movie theater sans knowledge of  the first Alice story.

I really liked the whole “Let’s do the impossible and make it possible because we believe it is!” theme but it just makes children and young teens happy. How about those from 16 and above? The plot seemed to be very cliché and overused even. I understand that it’s a children’s movie but come on, a Johnny Depp film and you expect only children to watch it? I say it could’ve been superior if the main character had more ordeals before she finally became a strong character. This is the part where I think the film could’ve been MUCH MUCH better if it had a longer runtime. Maybe add an extra 20 minutes or so. It worked well for Avatar so I figured it would also work well here too.

The story itself was very entertaining. It was much of what certain medieval myths would be about: castles, royalty, soldiers, beasts, dragons, and a war between two kingdoms. The thing is, I know for a fact that the original Alice wasn’t at all medieval in concept. It just played with children’s imaginations. I have to wonder why Tim Burton just decided to stick with the old framework and not cook up a little bit more than a dragon, a sword, and an evil knight. Also, what happened to the other characters in the film? I didn’t see the Dodo bird from near the start of the film near the end of the movie same with the flowers that talked. Why did this film just focus on five or six characters at the most? I like Johnny Depp and all but he’s not the only major character there. They could’ve given more lines or at least one or two more scenes for the other characters as well, even they were just some background image or a flashback at the very least. This movie kind of lacked character development and, well, characters.

I’m a fan of wars and knights plus dragons so I really had major goosebumps during the war scenes.  I also didn’t expect Alice to actually BEHEAD the dragon though. I thought it would be like turning it to stone or burning it to ashes with a single strike. I guess it made an irony with the Red Queen’s “OFF WITH YOUR HEAD!” statements being that the dragon was the queen’s favorite pet. Clever story in general.

8/10

OVERALL:

This movie could’ve been MUCH more if more time was invested in a more unpredictable or complex storyline and more original characters. It has a very nice moral lesson though, specially for young women.

It was only disappointing because I expected so much from this movie, being that people said it would surpass Avatar (Which I doubt anytime in the next 3 years at the very least).

8/10

BONUS PIC

I found this very nice poster picture while googling for images of the movie.

Click to enlarge

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] a Johnny Depp movie (Which much of it was compared to the time allotted for each character). …Next Page Cancel […]

  2. […] a Johnny Depp movie (Which much of it was compared to the time allotted for each character). …Read More… Cancel […]

  3. […] Although Anne Hathaway and a whole roster of good actors and actresses could also carry it beyond other movies, it wouldn’t be as high as a Johnny Depp movie (Which much of it was compared to the time allotted for each character). …Click Here […]


Leave a Reply

