The 9th Soul

PLDT MyDSL: YOU GUYS SUCK!

Posted in life by Fated Blue on April 22, 2010

I’ve had it with PLDT. I sent them an email a while ago. I believe it served my purpose well, if my purpose was to let them know how it feels like to have bad service.

This is a message of complaint for unsatisfactory service which was possibly caused by neglect.

I’ve had no qualms against the service PLDT has been providing me. I always enjoyed the services and the response of your company in a short period of time. However, since this year started, I’m afraid I have become unsatisfied as opposed to the service given to me last year.

We’ve availed of Plan 888 (whatever the service is called) because we wanted to test the DSL capabilities of PLDT. Last year, I was considering on having this service upgraded to at least Plan 1299 but I’m afraid a series of (unsatisfactory) events have made me think twice of your capabilities to define “care” in your customer care policy.

Lately, I’ve been calling your 171 hotline for repeated complaints about internet disconnection and drastic reduction of internet speed. I’ve called so many times that I’ve practically lost count and I’m afraid I’ll have an unwanted migraine should I try to remember.

It all started when I ping’d my connection and saw that streams of “Request timed out” and “Destination host unreachable” have become frequent a few months back. This would then disable my connection from as short as a few seconds to at least 10 minutes.

Click to Enlarge: Very Nice Connection

It was very frustrating. I’d often lose connection with people I converse with on the internet. Sometimes, this would occur when my thesis mates and I are all online for a report discussion and I would suddenly disappear from the chat room. You have no idea how many reports I almost lost because of this problem. I almost never passed my thesis because of this stupid problem. I have PLDT to thank for that. I called this in and they fixed it in a matter of days…or so I thought.

The problem persisted 1 DAY after you “fixed” it. I called again and the connection went back up. Then, as if a ghost was playing jokes on me, the problem came back. This little yet annoying and very frustrating cycle went on and on until March. I stopped calling this little problem in since it was quite bearable even though I’d lose connection for about 10 minutes every hour or every 30 minutes. My download speeds were still okay up to this point.

But since Late March and until now, I have to say that I’m paying 888 for a dial-up connection. The repeated “disconnection” problem was sort of fixed (the problem persisted much less compared to before) but my download speed was reduced to 1/4 of normal.

I had at least 20 Kbps download speed and took me less than 5 minutes to download a 5-6 MB file. Now, my download speed is (at most) 5 Kbps and it would take me around 30 minutes to download the same size of files. Mind you, if it weren’t for the still persisting (again, not as much as before) disconnection problem, the time it would take me to download the same file size now would be around 20 minutes. Don’t smile yet. 5 MB for 20 minutes = dial-up. I’m clearly paying 888 for a dial-up connection. Can you imagine taking a full hour to watch a 10 minute Youtube video? You can’t. Why? Because you don’t experience such annoyance and neglect of service. You know what else?It would take me 30 minutes to open Yahoo or Google. If that’s not annoying I don’t know what is.

For the past month or so, I’ve called and complained about this new annoyance. I’ve done everything your agents on the phone told me to do:

1. Turn the modem off for 5-10 minutes then restart.

2. Restart the computer.

3. Have the modem turned on for 24 hours for technical service to diagnose my problem.

One of your operators called me to say that she checked the network between me and PLDT and said it was fine. She told me that my connection is about 52 kbps. 52 kbps? I thought I was paying for a lot more! P888.00 for 52 kbps? That’s only 10 kbps more than dial-up. You know what she told me after? She told me that I should just upgrade since they had the service reduced.

YOU REDUCED MY SERVICE WITHOUT NOTIFYING ME.

Even if you did notify me (God knows how that escaped my eyes), WHY would you even DO THAT? I’m a paying customer and I should get what I pay for.

You know what that sounded like? It sounded like you significantly reduced my internet speed so that I WOULD HAVE TO UPGRADE.

They even sent this guy a couple of times (probably some engineer) to see the problem and I honestly don’t know what to say about that technical representative. I asked the possible reasons on why this crap is happening to my life. All in all he said that THERE WAS NO PROBLEM FROM MY CONNECTION with regards to the connections in the house; that the PROBLEMS WERE FROM PLDT itself.

Here’s a summary of what he actually told me. His answers, I believe, deserve your attention for hiring idiots like him and sending them to very irate customers. He told me the following on different occasions:

1. Modem was overheating.

2. A card needs to be reset at the office.

3. The weather was too hot.

4. I was using the internet too much.

5. (This one really pissed me) PLDT refuses to fix the problem because the speed is DIAL-UP.

Numbers 1-4 couldn’t be anymore stupid so I shrugged them off and pretended that I was stupid enough to agree with whatever he has to say. Number 5, however, really did it.

The speed is now dial-up? Can you please confirm this? You people REFUSE to fix the problem? And he even told me that everyone else around the area were using higher speeds and we’re the only ones with the slowest connection. So what? What has that got to do with the problem I’m very angry about right now?

This situation seems to be forcing us to upgrade. Would you force your customers to do something they don’t want? As I said above, I’ve been planning on upgrading for some time now but seeing that you can’t even fix a little problem like this, I have to say I have doubts on whether I should still be catering to your services. Oh, keep in mind that the operator on the phone and the technical representative told me that my connection is perfectly okay so the problem is really from you.

If there was one more thing that I’m also getting fed-up from is the fact that I’m paying so much for so little. P888.00 for a 20-minute download of a 5 MB file. I’m sorry but I’m afraid even idiots know what I’m paying for is a waste of money.

I have to tell you, I am so sick of calling that 171 hotline. I’ve wasted so much time trying to make you guys do your job. It appears that whoever is in charge last year was better. Either that or the guy’s dead and you guys don’t even know it.

All I’m asking is for you to bring my connection to the way it was before. I just want to get what I’m paying for. I want my connection to be just like last year’s. I don’t know what fucked up problem you guys went through since 2010 started but I am telling you that I am having none of it.

Also, how would I be billed? Would I still be billed as if I’m paying for a fast connection? Because I’m not getting any speed at all.

From ******, a VERY tired and irritated customer.

************

This email took me 40 minutes before I could actually SEND it.

PS: What’s not seen are my account details to let them know this is coming from someone who’s willing to sue them for denial of service.

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. riot said, on July 24, 2010 at 2:52 pm

    dude, seems like you got ripped of good explanation and alternatives.Just have the line disconnected.. On second thought.. these should be your quality check on your list.
    1. PC specifications and status (clean from viruses, malware blah blah, have spacious hard drive and good memory or ram blah blah)
    2. Is the phone line clear. (no noise heard if you press 1 )
    3. Connections are not interchanged. (from the box outside your house to the modem to the computer and phone).
    4. what are the lights on the modem. (which is steady / which is blinking)
    5. check speedtest and perform ping test on cmd (release and renew ip) *which you already did*
    6. Call PLDT for reporting and logging if your issue is not resolved following 1-5.
    7. After the repair make sure that the issue is resolved before you have the technician leave.
    8. For 24hrs or more no internet connection, you can ask for a rebate.

    **Note: the package that you have is the slowest speed that PLDT can offer. up to 88kbps so 70% of 88kbps should be guaranteed as the speed that you are receiving. Currently, the slowest speed package now that PLDT can offer is up to 512 at 990php.

  2. Jopz said, on October 6, 2010 at 2:13 pm

    @ riot
    i have PLDT business plan 2 mbps
    same here almost everyday
    cleared *1. PC specifications and status (clean from viruses, malware blah blah, have spacious hard drive and good memory or ram blah blah)
    cleared*2. Is the phone line clear. (no noise heard if you press 1 )
    3. Connections are not interchanged. (from the box outside your house to the modem to the computer and phone).
    4. what are the lights on the modem. (which is steady / which is blinking)
    cleared * but always timed out @ ping test*5. check speedtest and perform ping test on cmd (release and renew ip) *which you already did*
    done 6. Call PLDT for reporting and logging if your issue is not resolved following 1-5.
    no technician do manual check from ISP 7. After the repair make sure that the issue is resolved before you have the technician leave.

    now i can say PLDT = PLDC
    @ 5,600 monthly payment, w’r very disappointed.

    PLDT myDSL
    very poor rating

    brgy. san isidro
    san isidro, Cabuyao Laguna

  3. obi one said, on November 6, 2010 at 9:11 am

    we are a goverment office and have a two 4 mbps ip or internet connection with pldt……… testing each one with speedtest.com … the dont load speed is just around .8 mbps and upload aroun.5 mbps……. what kind of F898089090 service is this paying around 10 K A MONTH……. PLDT SERVICE NOW SUCKS……..L

    • Fated Blue said, on November 6, 2010 at 3:26 pm

      Don’t Load = Download?

      Well you did say you’re in a government office. Maybe a bunch of people are also using it (the internet) as well.

  4. pldtsucks said, on November 20, 2010 at 12:10 pm

    Simple answer, their system can not handle the load! Notice how frequent the hanging when there is no work or school! I hate their service too but unfortunately their line seem to have successfully monopolized my area so I can not switch to bayantel! Smart bro is owned by PLDT so I’drather not avail. Globe lines in not available in our area…In short, they are basking in their monopoly and can’t deliver!

  5. FvckPLDT said, on April 15, 2012 at 9:34 am

    yep we have 3 mbps plan when they start to change our modem to their new modem its always request timed out or destination host unreachable. we are still waiting for a repair for almost 2 weeks. my mom went at pldt office they always saying that our problem is still processing. THEY SUCK, WE ARE PAYING WITHOUT ENJOYING THEIR SERVICE! DAMN!

  6. rene said, on August 4, 2012 at 7:36 pm

    I have the very same problem of request time-out issues and after almost 2 weeks of an irritating PLDT trash customer service, finally i had mine disconnected. They just fucked-up one loyal customer for almost 3 yrs now. THEY SUCK !!! period.

  7. PLDTsucksss said, on August 27, 2012 at 10:07 am

    From april 2010 up to now, late August 2012! Same Fckng! PROBLEM!!!!! i get a series of request timed out. i let my command prompt run while i am using the internet pinging google.com(ping http://www.google.com -t ) and i also checked my router (ping 192.168.1.1 -t (no request timed out) ) and this sht happens everyday! NO ACTIONS FROM fckng pldt! PLEASE! if u cannot serve as right dont offer too much that you can’t handle all the freakin load! PLEASE? and serve us right! because we pay right! >,<

  8. jem said, on September 27, 2013 at 8:52 pm

    PLDT is sucking right now even in 2013.. My god. we pay for 3mbps with the Telepad feature and still. We called about 5 times already. 2 weeks of DESTINATION NET UNREACHABLE every 5 mins. what happed PLDT? I think it’s time that people sued to know what they’re dealing with………

  9. Adel said, on December 7, 2013 at 10:41 pm

    PLDT service is toooooo sloooowwww. actually I have a high speed connection before I didn’t transfer location..!!! I have been transfered to another location then the transfering of the line tooks 2 months.. 3 times a week i goes to the office and they keep saying they are processing my request.. yet I’m still paying my monthly plan.. then just yesterday my line have been transfered I thought that there would no more problem and yet there still problem.. Imagine my high speed connection.. the lowest high speed connection plan of mydsl.. 3Mbps!! my plan do not correspond to my speed ….my speed is 1/3 of my plan.. it suck!!!!!!!!.. 3mbps plan?? worse I get only 1 mbps.. what more worst the speed reduces yet my payments are not!!! We are paying the right amount so they should do give us the right speed that corresponds to our chosen plans.. and addition my connection disconnected few seconds then connected then later disconnected again… I called costumer service and instruct me to fix it but nothings happened. Suck…. I’ll call again tomorrow.. if they will not fix this..okk.. no.. they should fix this shit… they should its their responsibility…

  10. Darker said, on January 9, 2014 at 3:39 pm

    here a big revelation to you.. PLDT monitors internet speed usage and cuts-off your speed to maintain balance with others in your network… especially when you download via torrent that is not encrypted. and if you call them they will switch it back to normal and say to you that there might be a problem in your connection and other BS excuses. so don’t get caught using large amount of downloads if you have a good pldt plan, encrypt your torrents. cause even if you report to them everyday they will not compensate. also if there is more other services in your area switch to that one. ask your neighbors

    • NoGoodPLDC said, on April 23, 2014 at 8:27 pm

      experiencing the same problem since I subscribed to PLDT. I am calling every now and then yet all they say my connection is “fine” yet the problem is still there. I called for a technician to fix this (for they are telling me that the problem is in my house). And for no more than a day the problem is back. I kept restarting my modem and it connected to the internet for 5 mins and disconnects for 10-45 mins. This problem is consistent. Better fix this.

  11. Leiah Ael said, on October 8, 2014 at 11:28 am

    PLDT SUCKS! I experience the same problem and I keep on calling 171 to fix it and ask for technician to solve the problem but no one has come. I paid for a good service, however, I didn’t receive one. PLDT service is bad and poor. The problem is never fixed it keeps coming back.

  12. Axo said, on June 29, 2016 at 2:42 am

    If I were in your shoes, in 2 weeks time, I would’ve changed my ISP (Internet Service Provider). There’s no point in tolerating ignorance especially in months time. Seriously. If everyone would just stop catering to garbage services (PLfvckingDT) and complaining so much and just revert matters into their own hands, then PLDT internet would be close to non-existent by now.

    P.S.,
    Globe offers a much more satisfying service. We currently subscribed to 5MBPs plan which is 1,499php a month for 2 years now. We only get disconnect when the weather is really hitting hard or some technical issues from their side almost NEVER. I’ve had one call to Globe ONCE last year. Sure we had a week without internet because the engineers had trouble finding out what the problem is. They came everyday to monitor the issues and soon they found out that the box outside on the post was outdated and needed to be replace. After that, smooth sailing. 400-800Kbps is normal and sometimes, it reaches up to 2Mbps (which is totally acceptable since, you know, PHILIPPINES.)

    So I suggest you try out Globe for once. We have neighbors here who uses a lower plan than ours and they rarely have problems too.🙂


Leave a Reply

