The 9th Soul

Movie Review: The Sorcerer’s Apprentice

Posted in entertainment by Fated Blue on July 18, 2010

This will be a quick review. I only have so much internet time since I started working.

I watched this on it’s premiere date. Needless to say, a lot of people lined up for this. I was supposed to watch “Inception” since I found the trailers so amazing. I then realized that the malls in Laguna (Specifically: SM Sta. Rosa) closes at 9 pm for it’s last full show. I was late by a mere 20 minutes for Inception that I thought “Hey, I’m here so I might as well watch a movie”.

This film is one of those basic “Magic + Reality = lots of mystical battles and humor” movies. One critic from RT stated

Ever wonder what the Harry Potter films would be like without an ounce of wit, grace or subtlety? Wonder no more.

To my description: If you’re looking for a quick fix of magic and comedy then this film is for you. It’s one of those “ordinary boy living a below average life suddenly becomes superman according to some prophecy” story.

It’s worth the money you’ll be spending at the very least. The story was ordinary so nothing new there. The magic was too…ordinary as well. Specially how they abused the Jedi Force wave wherein a wave of a hand would send something (or someone) flying off.

The actors weren’t that big save for 3 or 4 of them. It’s a Disney film so it’s not uncommon for them to use a bunch of not-so-Hollywood actors. Nicholas Cage made sure this film wasn’t boring.

Also, the fact that it’s a Disney film makes this movie rank up there with the rest of the “must watch movies of 2010”.

And yes, there will be a sequel. I found this one out when I felt there would be some after-credits trailer or something. There was one.

OVERALL: 7/10

I’d rate this lower but I enjoyed it so a +1 is necessary.


2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. justdc said, on July 18, 2010 at 12:34 am

    Not really interested in it though, seems kinda more for children to be entertained by.

  2. beer tap said, on July 18, 2010 at 1:06 am

    This post is very nice.because your post is given very nice information.so very thankful to you.


Leave a Reply

