The 9th Soul

Congratulations to Miss Mexico for being crowned Miss Universe 2010! RP’s Venus Raj claims 5th place!

Posted in entertainment by Fated Blue on August 24, 2010

Source

She donned a flowing red dress, strutted confidently in a violet bikini, and said onstage that the Internet is indispensable and requires parents to impart family values.

The model-turned pageant queen then posed for pictures with a Mexican flag and Mexico’s last Miss Universe as congratulations from her countrymen came pouring in.

“Her triumph is a source of pride and satisfaction for all Mexicans, who see in her the fruits of perseverance,” Mexican President Felipe Calderon said in a statement. Immediately after her win, Calderon said on Twitter that her victory would help Mexico’s image as a country.

Congratulations! Among the many beautiful women, Miss Mexico was hot as a woman and as a man if she ever was the other gender which I’m sure many are thankful she isn’t. The moment I saw her face, I told myself “Damn…this girl can bag it with ease. My favorites are in trouble.” My favorites in the competition were Miss Australia (Because she’s young, hot, and TALL; from her twitter, she resembles Miley Cyrus IMO), and our very own Miss Philippines.

================================

So Miss Philippines had the awesome luck of the Irish today (last night) until she had to open her mouth. Oh well. It’s not like 5th place is nothing to be proud of. It’s just that I really thought she could be at par with Miss Mexico had she answered decently. Venus had one thing the other contestants didn’t have: Exotic beauty; something our country boasts and one of the reasons why rich foreigners retire in the Philippines (Aside from the obviously good exchange rate). I mean, she actually looks FILIPINA. I cannot recall our representatives that actually looked Filipina since Miriam Quiambao. I don’t know; Everyone around me tells me she won’t make it past top 15 since all the competitors were like goddesses of beauty. What they don’t know is that foreigners PREFER exotic beauty and where else to have the best but the Philippines?

She really just f’d up that answer. I mean, it even made headlines.

The show was without any major gaffes, except for Miss Philippines’ answer when asked what her biggest mistake in life was and how she fixed it.

“In my 22 years of existence, I can say there is nothing major,” Venus Raj said.

Before the pageant, Raj was rated among the top contestants in an online poll on the pageant’s website. She finished in fifth place.

Ugh. It really hurt me when I heard this. The question was the easiest among the other 5! I mean, what if she was asked by that guy who was all about the legislation of banned clothes or something? Or that first question to Miss Mexico about the internet (which I think she nailed pretty solid)?

You know what? I’m just happy we got up to that point. I mean, with all the controversies and issues surrounding the Philippines right now, we really needed a cause for celebration. It just sucks knowing that we could’ve cheered for bagging a higher position if not the crown.

Oh well. I’m just waiting for someone from the media or from some local TV show to turn that “MAJOR, MAJOR” into a local meme, just like Janina San Miguel’s “Pressure” statement.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. World Wide News Flash said, on August 24, 2010 at 6:12 pm

    Congratulations to Miss Mexico for being crowned Miss Universe 2010! RP?s Venus Raj claims 5th place!…

    I found your entry interesting do I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…


Leave a Reply

