The 9th Soul

Book Review: The Lost Symbol by Dan Brown

Posted in life by Fated Blue on September 15, 2010

Probably Dan Brown's best book yet

I recently finished this book. How recent? Try 10 minutes recent. I really loved reading Dan Brown’s books ever since I had my mind satisfied by Angels and Demons. The caption below the image is no exaggeration at all. This book is seriously the best in Dan Brown’s arsenal of novels.

Why is it the best? It’s really the type that keeps you flipping pages. Even more than his previous Langdon books. I seriously had no clue there was so much that happened before America became what it is today: The world’s most powerful country.

I never imagined so much planning was done to establish America and how symbols and religious beliefs played the major role in it’s birth. This book simply made me want to go to Washington D.C. and have a complete “The Lost Symbol” tour there.

Below will be a short summary. Spoilers are expected.

REVIEW:

The background of the story is about Freemasonry and how it shaped not just America but the whole world. Masons hold a lot of secrets. If you’ve taken the interest to read books about secret organizations, it wouldn’t have been long before you read about these guys. The thing is, although they are very good at hiding secrets, they’re not actually secretive themselves. A lot of people who are simply into these sort of things SHOULD know few verified Masons. And of course, Masons are those who hold a certain amount of power, both monetary and political.

This story revolves around a traitor to the organization. Someone who’s interest in perfection and absolute glory was the main goal for his infiltration. This villain, I have to say, has to be the Langdon’s worst enemy yet. This villain kills in the name of sacred darkness. Unlike Langdon’s previous enemies who killed for money and for power, this one kills for himself. He established a certain belief that he was to be the perfect sacrifice to the darkness; to the demons.

The whole adventure is, again, a race against time. The whole story unfolds and finishes itself within a span of a day. Which adds to the term I like to call “Page Flipping Madness!” in which readers would be entitled to read the book as if it was a race against time as well. This is a very good thing. I like it very much when the author WANTS me to read the book since Page 1. Trust me on this; I’ve read a lot of books and Dan Brown is among the authors who actually captivate his readers and make it seem they’re REALLY a part of the adventure.

The book explores a lot of secrets that Masons have “hidden in plain sight”. I never really given thought to how beautiful Washington D.C. is for those who’re interested in Symbology.  I mean, Dan Brown got me hooked since Angels and Demons and even more with The DaVinci Code. I’ve read books about secret organizations since then. And for the first time, when I read The Lost Symbol, I finally have a bit of idea as to the terms used by Robert Langdon. I actually can verify for myself that what’s written in the book is factual.

This book also greatly admires America’s forefathers. I never really admired scientists like Benjamin Franklin as anything more than a great scientist until I read this book.

If there are any similarities to any authors when Dan Brown wrote this, it’s that this book reminds me of Paulo Coelho’s The Alchemist. Well, at least near the ending (and some parts along the middle). This book wasn’t just meant to thrill the readers or feed their appetite for knowledge and scandalous information. No, the real idea of this book is to INSPIRE readers to become better people; to believe in things they cannot see; to know they can be someone greater than themselves, much greater.

I give this book:

10/10

I am looking forward to another Langdon masterpiece, Mr. Dan Brown.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Chrome Towel Radiator : said, on November 1, 2010 at 9:58 am

    the novel of Dan Brown are all great works, i specially love Angels and Demons ,

  2. Bedding Collections said, on November 25, 2010 at 12:00 am

    oprah also makes some good book reviews, i always wait for the book reviews of oprah *.;

  3. […] for the story, as mentioned above, it was faster in pacing but not Dan Brown fast. The story happens in about three to four days so it was amazing just how much content was managed […]

  4. […] for this book to come out on paperback. I’m not being a cheapskate here it’s just that every book I have by Dan Brown is on paperback so I figured I should be consistent about it…well okay maybe I am a bit of a […]


Leave a Reply

