The 9th Soul

Book Series Review: Percy Jackson and the Olympians

Posted in entertainment, life, Special posts by Fated Blue on September 27, 2011

In line with my review of book 1.

Here are the amazing book covers! Click them to enlarge. (Pictures courtesy of Wikipedia)

Book 1

Book 2

Book 3

Book 4

Book 4.5

Book 5

Okay, in a nutshell, I think all the books have these things to learn while you read them but I think they mainly cover the following:

Book 1: About accepting responsibility and growing outside your cocoon

Book 2: About accepting others as family no matter how unacceptable they seem

Book 3: About understanding relationships and the different opinions of other people about it

Book 4: About trusting friends and believing in your own personal strength

Book 5: About overcoming fear and making the best decisions. It’s also about understanding sacrifices no matter how unfair they may be.

So these 5 books mainly disguise the fact that Rick Riordan wants to tell children to not be disheartened when life gives them tons of lemons. He implored the  use of heroes, powers, and adventure and friendship to teach the child in us that in no matter how crazy ass godlike you are, life will always be the same. Their will always be the school bully, the annoying teachers, the crazy neighbors, odd family members, friends that are better off as enemies, and problems that you think you’re not supposed to be having.

Yes, we all have our own share of ups and much more downs but with it all, we have our friends and our family (no matter how quirky they can be) to help us in our everyday life. There will always be those dark days where you think you’re alone and have no one else to go to but then someone comes along and reminds you that the door isn’t completely closed and that the night will soon end. There’s no reason to be afraid of anything so long as you’re with those you know you trust with your life.

I really enjoyed this series so much. It’s like I’m reading my own adventure when I start flipping its pages. I tell you, Rick Riordan can write adventures. The way Rick mixes humor and sadness, it always gives me goosebumps. I either laugh at Percy’s (the narrator) inside jokes and sarcastic remarks or feel the emptiness and sorrow the situation radiates. I also like the fact that there’s a life-after-death thing here. Heroes go to Elysium, “neutrals” go to Asphodel, the bad guys go to Tartarus, and the really awesome guys who chose rebirth and remained awesome three times ’til death goes to Isle of the Blest.

Rick’s contemporary insight on something old and traditional such as Greek mythology really brought this book to people’s homes and libraries. I really loved how certain things like the children of Hephaestus afraid of heights was due to the fact that Hephaestus himself was kicked out of Olympus for being fugly. Hey, blame Hera for that. I also like how Demeter, being the Goddess of Harvest, really likes cereals. And she really played the role of the annoying mother-in-law for Hades. She really didn’t like the fact that her daughter Persephone ate that fruit in the underworld and she never got out of there save for the spring and summer time.

You really have to read it for yourself. This book will give you goosebumps specially when something heroic is happening  and tear-jerking moments for those times when hopelessness and death is staring at our heroes.

I’ve already reviewed the first book. It was such a fast-paced adventure that I remember panting after reading it for hours on end.

The second book was a bit slower and I didn’t like it as much as the first. I guess I didn’t find the story to be that interesting. This is my least favorite of the series. I give it 7/10.

The third book made me tear up. Right near the end, there’s this one moment where I literally cried for this character that I think I had a crush on. I mean, she was my type. Strict, smart, tough, beautiful, and immortal. But she died in the end (not going to mention who, don’t worry) and left me not read the next book for a few days. I give it a 9/10 simply because of that character that I wish didn’t die. Then again, I think the story was better off that way. I mean, you can’t always get everything without sacrifices.

The fourth book reminded me of LotR: The Two Towers. This book is my 2nd favorite due to introduction of new characters, new places, and just new stuff and other mythological facts that I find interesting. Some fictional-facts I really imagined to be real. And I really like the fact that they traversed the Labyrinth and with Rachel’s role being the crucial one ( I seriously like the girl Rachel Elizabeth Dare), it just added more points for me. The ending was really exciting to the point that I literally wanted to go get some sword and shield and prepare for battle. The cliffhanger ending made me so freakin’ eager to read the last book. 10/10

I also crazily searched for the companion of the series, the Demigod Files. I literally asked all the bookstores for this book. I read up on Lauren Kate’s “Torment” (which I liked, by the way) so I could fulfill my lust for books. It wasn’t necessary to read this book but since I’m such a fan like those guys at some Star Wars or Star Trek convention, I really got to have this as part of my collection. There were also a few instances where the book explored a few storylines found in the last book. The book itself has three short stories and could be read online if you wished. I simply bought this for collection’s sake. For the three stories, I give it 8/10. But for the whole book, about 6/10. Yeah, it has some extra stuff but I didn’t exactly enjoy the secret stuff.

And the last book was simply the most epic one. I mean, it would be such an injustice not to make the ending superior to the penultimate book. I thought it wouldn’t get any better than “Labyrinth” but Rick has outdone himself in this one. This is seriously about trust and betrayal, friendship, courage, sadness, death, and not giving up no matter what (OMG I’m having goosebumps while writing this!). The book is also about not looking back anymore. That you have to look onwards to move on was one of the lessons this book teaches it’s readers. It’s also about understanding what you really want in life.

I specifically loved the fact that the book ended with a note that the story isn’t quite over yet. And it certainly isn’t with the Heroes of Olympus series. Oh man, I’m so buying the next two books! Anyways, to sum things up, The Last Olympian was simply too praise worthy to even make me think up of any flaws in the book. 10/10

I’ll be looking for the other books connected to this series but I know they’re not really that important so forgive me if I skipped them all anyway.

I’ll be reading Lauren Kate’s “Passion” before I move on with the series, though.

Until then, young demigods!

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] talk about what happened last July. Yes, I’ve owned this book since July but I had to finish Percy Jackson and The Olympians before I got the chance to even so much as open this book. And besides, work and trying to be a […]

  2. […] The horror was now seemingly becoming kind of like some typical young adult fiction similar to the Percy Jackson series. What am I saying here? Well, I was sort of disappointed on how everything turned out to be […]

  3. […] barely into their teens and they’re already acting as if they’re adults. I miss the way Rick Riordan did it in his Percy Jackson series and how he knew how to be subtle without being too quiet about romance between two child […]

  4. […] read something this fast outside Dan Brown’s Langdon series. Not even Rick Riordan‘s Percy Jackson books can match this book’s […]


Leave a Reply

