The 9th Soul

Book Review: The Fault In Our Stars by John Green

Posted in health, life by Fated Blue on May 26, 2013

I simply fell in love with the book cover. It’s not childish but rather drawn from youth or rather with a youthful perspective.

I cannot tell you how thankful I am for our little infinity. I wouldn’t trade it for the world. You gave me a forever within the numbered days, and I’m grateful.

This is a first for me to start a review with a quote. This isn’t the best quote for me but this quote meant much more than my favorite. But I’ll get to this in a while. I’ll cover the little review and get on with the quotation afterwards.

Okay. I’ll start by saying Okay. For those that have already read the book, you would understand why I would like to say a word that defines a condition before the condition is presented. I’m reading this after resurfacing from the world written and created by George R.R. Martin so I have to say that John Green’s sweet book is like the dessert after quite a rich meal. For those that have yet to even glance at the words printed on the book, I urge you to do so. You see, this book gives much emphasis on the simple things in life which mainly focuses on how to spend your life, no matter how short it is, doing something worth every second with someone worth a lifetime.

This book gives you a light story on some of those we consider unfortunate due to their illness mainly cancer. It sheds light on those particular type of people on how cancer affects their lives and the few who, are lesser in faith, simply lets cancer be their lives. But it’s not really just about cancer and its suffering. I wouldn’t simply breeze over a book about suffering because those books are too heavy to finish quickly and this one, while it significantly becomes heavy right near the end, isn’t the type of book which you’ll brood over chapter by chapter. As I mentioned, it’s a light story. A little slice of life if you would have it. And the most wonderful thing about the story is that it’s not at all far-fetched despite the numerous use of great coincidences and complex characters. In fact when you start reading this, you inevitably feel the characters’ struggles and joy and you find yourself unable to put it down.

This isn’t some cliche on a love story cut short by a disease. It’s anything but a love story if you ask me. The disease is there but with the way the characters chose to live their lives they might as well be ordinary, healthy people and that’s what makes this book such a fun thing to read. It’s not always focused on their griefs, their pain, and their short lifespan. The story focuses on the little bits of happiness we get every day that most of us chose to rather take for granted since we don’t usually know when we’re gonna die. And that’s the difference between us and these terminally inflicted civilians. They know they’re gonna die and they chose to live life the way they want to while we who have all the time in the world choose to live a life of trends and conformation.

With that, are these people really unfortunate? Their conditions gave them a new set of eyes to look at how the world works and how much value they actually have in the vast cosmos we sometimes call the universe. Some realize their significance while others realize their insignificance but the point is that they now see themselves as a being with or without significance and that is not achieved easily. Our greatest philosophers discovered their significance or lack thereof in times of desperation and in times of enlightenment. Who’s to say that these cancer-stricken human beings have not similar minds to those philosophers?

And because of what was stated above, let me explain the quote of which I started writing this review with. This book will teach you all kinds of life lessons but the one it will teach you the most is the value of time. Now wait. Drop that thought on “of course, time is gold and precious blah, blah, blah…” in your head. I’m gonna tell you exactly what this book means by value and it’s not just how short life is or how time will not end even if we would all cease to exist. It’s not that simple. The story’s complex plot lies in its simplicity.

Time is constantly running out for all of us and these characters had theirs cut short(er). But the two main characters, whom loved each other, had an infinity between their disease and their limited time on Earth. Even for a few months, they both know they shared an infinite amount of time just being in each other’s hearts. The concept of time and space does not govern the multiple and far more complex concepts of love. The couple were both quickly dying and they loved as if they were gonna die on that day or the day after. They thought about each other’s faces as if they haven’t done so every time they’re apart. And there is the magic right there. Love transcends disease. Love transcends time. Love transcends the universe itself. It’s an emotion albeit a mortal one and yet it’s as if we can build a love that can last an eternity even if the time we have with someone isn’t even longer than a year or even half that. And because they had an infinity between the numbered days, they were both eternally grateful.

This is such a short but sweet story, the kind you wish didn’t end but you know would’ve been poorly written if it was written with desperate extensions.

10/10

PS: This is my favorite quote if you’re wondering:

What else? She is so beautiful. You don’t get tired of looking at her. You never have to worry if she is smarter than you.

She is funny without being mean. I love her. I am so lucky to love her.

You don’t get to choose if you get hurt in this world but you do have some say in who hurts you.

I like my new choices. I hope she likes hers.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] started reading this book as soon as I finished reviewing The Fault In Our Stars. I have this goal to read as many short pocket books, not longer than 400 pages, before the next […]

  2. […] into John Green’s books after the amazing story I found in his most recent book “The Fault In Our Stars“. They say TFIOS is his greatest work yet. While I did have an insurmountable joy reading […]

  3. […] things off on why I bought this book: The title made me. I’ve been reading John Green’s books with the book before this being Looking For Alaska. And I figured I need a new book with a […]

  4. […] started reading John Green’s books when I was first intrigued by the plot behind The Fault In Our Stars. I’ve since then told myself that I would his other works. This is my third book from him of […]

  5. […] is the last four of the books I’ve read by John Green. I’m still thinking about buying his other two books but […]


Leave a Reply

