The 9th Soul

Back to Basics: Single Kettlebell Workout with Push-ups

Posted in health by Fated Blue on February 23, 2014

I tried a little something this morning. It went like this:

Tool: 1 x 32kg kettlebell

Workouts: Swings, Goblet squats, Push-ups

Rep per exercise: 5, 10, 15, 20, 15, 10, 5

My idea was to transition from swing to squat to push-up. I’ve done something like this before. The rep per exercise went like this:

2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2

Total rep per exercise in my old routine: 40 x 3 = 120

Total rep per exercise in my new routine: 80 x 3 = 320

Needless to say, this one was a toughie. In fact, it was so tough I couldn’t finish it in under 20 minutes. After the first 30 reps my arms started to give and I figured it was due to my neglect of the standard push-up for a few weeks now. I even had to divide the 20 rep into 4 sets. All in all I was only able to do 50 reps per exercise. It was still better than my old routine and I still had like 4-5 minutes to spare. I even decided to do snatches but my arms were so fatigued I had to force the snatch with arm strength which was the wrong way since the power has to come from the lower body as with every kettlebell move I know.

With that, I figured I’ve strengthened my lower body but my upper body, specifically my arms, couldn’t give me power if left to itself. My upper body literally depended on my lower body’s power boost and this made me feel weak despite an awesome break at my old record. Now I’m thinking of doing a few sets of push-ups every other day to compensate.

I also ran like last week but this time I literally just sprinted. The video below inspired me to run like a football player.

Even if it took me 28 minutes to get 1.25 km, my body felt the strain. I got the power from my legs but my stamina wasn’t enough to make the great boost of speed last longer than a minute. I figured I will run like this every week for a while until I get a good distance with an even better time.

Leave a Reply

