The 9th Soul

Double Kettlebell Front Squat Achievement: 140 lb!

Posted in health, life by Fated Blue on June 12, 2014

Credits to the owner

After 6 months with mostly using a pair of 24 kg bells, I am now able to do a pair of 32 kg cleans and squats! I tried this last Sunday just for the heck of it and I’ve never felt so happy with my training progress. I used to just be able to do single arm movements with my 32 kg bells and my most effort using the two would be more on deadlifts and swings.

The workout I did with them were as follows:

Time allotted: 20 minutes

3 x 8 double kettlebell front squats

10 x 2 double kettlebell swings

8 to 1 ladder push up

1 minute plank

I chose to go with a 3 x 8 for starters since I wanted to get the proper form set in and I figured I can get my body prepared for increased reps per set in the future this way. This should also increase my strength without making the margins for error any smaller. The swings are there as a sort of ballistic stretch after the grinds I did with squatting. The “climb-down the  ladder” push up is there to boost the fat burning and also build upper body strength since the squats mostly focused on my lower body. A note on this push up is that I count 8 reps, stay in starting position, then count 7 reps and so on until my arms want to escape my torso. It adds difficulty and I feel a better effect overall. The plank is there since I was running out of time to do anything else without repeating a movement or exploring the possibility of over-fatigue.

For experienced kettlebell users, 20 minutes to do the above is too long. But as I said, I’ve just gotten to be able to perform double front squats with my pair of 32 kg (70 lb) bells and I’ll eventually add more reps or sets but right now I’m focusing on eliminating any form mistakes and improving my overall body strength and endurance.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] I figured, since I’m now including a pair of 32 kg bells in my workout schedule, I might as well try and combine the […]

  2. […] been trying to do double cleans with my 32kg pair (140 lb total) to perform double front squats, double lunges, and one-arm push-presses. I’ve so far only […]


Leave a Reply

