The 9th Soul

Book Review: Goliath by Scott Westerfeld (Leviathan #3)

Posted in entertainment by Fated Blue on July 29, 2014

I never found the cover with the similar theme as the last two books so I got this. It was the last book in the store, too. I got lucky and I’m happy I got lucky.

I finished the final book of the Leviathan trilogy and I have only good words to say of it. I’ve always wanted to read the entire series ever since I saw its hardbound cover in our local bookstore but I waited for the right time due to budget constraints (Read: student money is never enough) and it wasn’t until I saw the first book at a sale that I since promised myself that I would hunt for the remaining books. And finally, the story has concluded itself and I’m quite happy with the results.

I’m dubbing this as one of the best series I’ve ever read. I can’t spoil anything but what I loved about this book is how it never made the story predictable. I had a couple of moments where I was literally on the edge of my seat and I couldn’t simply stop reading until a chapter has finally relieved me of the situation. Another favorite is how the fact that, though this is for teens (mainly), it never poked fun about the tragedies and horrors of war and how death is not so simple as to be merely reduced to something as ordinary and common as a statistic. The book never let up on the fact that wars are horrible events in human history and it takes the lives of too many innocents.

Serious moments aside, I really can’t get enough of the romantic bits in this book. Obviously, Deryn confesses (not much of a spoiler there; this is the last book) and it made for some very romantic chapters. I specially liked that Scott made Alex and Deryn’s conversations about how they feel about one another longer than the chapters that are mostly about the war. I’m 24 years old and I still feel warm inside whenever I get to read things like this so I guess it’s either I’m still young at heart or Scott’s writing methodology, as with his dialogues and scripts, is truly awesome.

I can’t expound on this any longer. The whole barking series is a must read specially for steam punk fans. And I’ll be buying the “Manual of Aeronautics” because the internet, upon searching for book covers and wallpapers, have unwillingly showed me this:

Click to enlarge

Overall: 10/10

P.S. I just got information that Scott wrote a bonus chapter to the Goliath Series. It can be found here with bonus art from Keith Thompson as well! I’ll read this tomorrow for sure!😀

P.P.S. One question though: why was there sacks of flour on the alps which, by coincidence (and with Dr. Barlow saying how odd it was. I’m pretty sure she was the one who said that) helped replenish the Leviathan when it was doomed to die? Or is this me brooding over it too much?

P.P.P.S. What I really couldn’t quite get is how on earth is it that the lorises never really lived up to how they were supposed to be? I mean, sure they interpret stuff but they weren’t really one of the things that turned the tide (well, they helped but not as much as we were led to believe). They were awesome in book two but they weren’t so great here, I guess.

ALTERNATE SPOILERS BELOW

The book ended with Alek and Deryn pretty much working for Dr. Barlow in London and it was a good move but if Scott would write an alternate ending for it, I’d prefer it go like this:

Alek will take the throne and he will rule Austria-Hungary, forging alliances and enticing the world to rebuild once more. He will become a symbol for peace and will do what it takes to stop all wars. He marries a royal princess which ensures that his family’s name and vision lives on. Deryn on the other hand will continue to work as an agent for diplomacy alongside Dr. Barlow. She will one day inherit Dr. Barlow’s position and she will live the life of a single woman, never really getting over Alek. There will come a time that she’ll need to drop by Alek’s empire and they will meet and reminisce about the past and catch up with each other. Both will have their feelings on the table but the limitations of their positions (Alek, an emperor and married; Deryn bound to a life of ensuring long-lasting peace) will only make their old flames flicker so much but in such a manner that they would give in. They would be older and wiser and they’ve already accepted the fact that they cannot be more than good old friends. (Well, Alek can be single here if you want to keep the tension a bit more, well, tense LOL)

“Let others wage war. You, lucky Austria, shall marry.”

“Bella gerant alii, tu felix Austria, nube.”

Leave a Reply

