The 9th Soul

Details of my 30 minute kettlebell workout

Posted in health, life, Special posts by Fated Blue on August 2, 2014

I was particularly in the mood to push my usual workout time to 30 minutes rather than my usual 20. It may not seem much for most people but those that know how it is to train with kettlebells will definitely feel the difficulty of adding 50% more time than usual. I guess it had something to do with me eating a whole bunch of Pancit Malabon and Chicken Drumsticks from yesterday’s 4:00 PM birthday celebration.

It looks small but underneath the Pancit strands are 4 pairs of chicken legs. PAIRS, GODDAMMIT, PAIRS!

 

Emphasis on 4:00 PM meaning I ate a truckload of food hours before my day was up. That would be both a dietician’s and a bodybuilder’s nightmare. When I carried it off to a nearby table, I was pretty sure it weighed more than 600 grams. I’m not sure how much calories that would translate to but I’m pretty sure it was not less than 1000. I mean, I seriously ate more than enough carbs, fats, and cholesterol in one big serving to give me enough energy to last me 24 hours with only water. I wanted the excess energy to get out of my system and I also had the day to myself mostly so I couldn’t really lose.

I’ll be giving this one in detail which also includes my usual warm ups. Some of these workouts have been blogged previously which also had videos.

 

Warm up, no time allotted

 

Various hand stretching

 

10 x Squats (no weights)

This form but deeper like the next picture

 

 

3 x Pistol squats

One of my favorite workouts.

10 x Push ups

Try to make it chest deep while maintaining neck and spine neutrality.

 

5 x Single arm swings  per arm (24 kg)

5 x Kettlebell high pull per arm (24 kg)

I wish I can find a bigger resolution for this

3 x Kettlebell snatches

3 x Kettlebell windmills per arm (24 kg)

This is my usual windmill routine but you also have the option to go double as seen below.

Don’t go too heavy, though. Unless this is part of your main workout, use light or moderate weight kettlebells.

 

You may opt to combine the swing together with the high pull until you snatch it up for a windmill.

 

Main workout (30 minutes allotted inclusive of rest time)

 

3 x 10 double kettlebell front squats + 10 x double kettlebell cleans (32 kg x 2)

 

 

Total weight lifted in squats: 64 kg x 3 reps x 10 sets = 1920 kg or 4224 lb

Total weight lifted in cleans: 64 kg x 1 rep x 10 sets = 640 kg or 1408 lb

 

10 x double kettlebell high pull (24 kg x 2)

IMO a notch higher than the swing since it also trains the chest. It’s also been likened to a “safer” version of the snatch according to Steve Maxwell.

5 x single kettlebell snatch per arm (24 kg)

3 x Pistol squats (weights are optional)

 

WHOA! This is some extreme shit right here!

5 x Hindu Push-ups

 

The pistols and the Hindu Push-Ups are there to help me relax after this brutal workout. I’m not sure if I will try this again but this is definitely one to remember.

Leave a Reply

