The 9th Soul

Book Review: Generation A By Douglas Coupland

Posted in entertainment, politics by Fated Blue on October 12, 2014

I picked this book from a bargain sale a few weeks back. The synopsis intrigued me and I figured even if the book was bad, at least I got it for like 80% off. I mean, I’ve had my share of bad books but they weren’t all totally a waste of money since I then knew that those types of books don’t appeal to me.

The book isn’t too long as it barely had 300 pages and the writing style wasn’t so slow for a typical novel. The chapters were pretty short and most of them would definitely have you be interested as to what the whole problem with the story was about. It focused on the narrative point of view of five people which says something of how the author has managed to make them be individuals despite having them come out of the same head.

What I liked about the book:

Interesting plot and an even more interesting look at the distant future. It probed the possibility of what would happen if the bees suddenly disappeared. We all know bees are one of the most important insects in nature (well, all of them are important. Even mosquitoes.) and that their mere extinction will definitely be a big punch to the ecosystem.

I also liked the way the characters were developed. They didn’t become boring or generic. They became what people usually are in the real world.

What I didn’t like:

The story was too damn dystopic. I mean, I get the whole “the world is suffering from loss of bees” thing but even with the inserted humor and quips in the dialogue, I just couldn’t get my laughing reflexes to work. I guess the book was trying to be sarcastic but still, the characters don’t seem to be overtly serious about the situation so why does the whole book feel like such a downer?

Rating:

8/10

I wouldn’t be looking forward to reading anything from him anymore but the book wasn’t so bad that I regretted buying it.

Leave a Reply

