The 9th Soul

Sickday Routine

Posted in health, health defects, life by Fated Blue on October 14, 2014

I was a bit feverish this morning due to a cold that won’t go away. I had days like this before and I’ve learned that going fast or going heavy on sick days is a big no-no if you want to recover in the soonest possible time. I was all set to just lie back down on my bed and wait for the time for breakfast. It wasn’t until I finished my hydration ritual (which I’ve been doing for the past 4 years) that I realized I can get some good exercise in without making my fever worse. I figured I should go out and try a few isometric exercises and some serious joint mobility workouts.

So for this morning’s unweighted routine, I tried the following:

3 x windmills per arm

5 x 8 second squat (4 seconds down, 4 seconds up)

5 x 8 second push up

10 x Hindu push-up

I rinsed and repeated the workout for just 15 minutes. I had some serious sweat going on with those 8 second push-ups and I felt better about myself afterwards. I didn’t rush the workout since I feared nausea (and I was a bit light headed this morning when I awoke) and I focused more on the Hindu Push-Up simply because it’s my favorite push-up variation. I felt like I was doing a bit of Yoga in a sense that, besides the move sets, I felt relaxed and calm rather than huffing and puffing with all the energy driving in and out of my body. It wasn’t such a bad workout and I’ll keep this in mind the next time I need something relaxing or calming (and when I’m on a sickday).

Leave a Reply

