The 9th Soul

Bumps into my program this December

Posted in food, health, health defects, life by Fated Blue on December 13, 2014

My program

First month

Second month

The whole month began with me ripping a callus on my left hand. This hampered my program and I had to focus on bodyweight workouts for one week. Not to mention how I condensed it from 20 minutes to just 10 because of lack of sleep (Christmas party performance practice) and fatigue from not getting enough sleep. The second week started out fine but last Wednesday was a cursed day that I had to stop training until I’m fully rested (and I’m sure I’m fully rested now; will train tomorrow).

I first suffered from chills last Wednesday at around 1:30 AM. The thing was, it wasn’t even that cold or rather not cold enough for me to have chills. I also felt feverish which made my body feel hot to the touch. Chills and hot temperature, I was already concluding that I wouldn’t be able to workout that morning but I never thought it would get worse.

A few hours later, I had a bout with migraine and nausea right after waking up. I figured it was perhaps due to overeating which resulted to a bad gassy stomach. I was seriously burping with an intensity and consistency that would’ve filled up a small hot-air balloon if put together. I ate too much the other day and I overestimated my body’s ability to digest and metabolize the food I ate. I couldn’t even walk straight without feeling the need to throw-up. I was then rushed to the hospital.

On the way, motion sickness was getting to me so I was starting to think I was food poisoned or something. After two hours in the emergency room, the doctors diagnosed me with a possible viral infection which hasn’t fully blown out yet. They gave me a painkiller for my migraine and recommended paracetamol and ibuprofen for treatment of the fever. The doctor even told me that if the fever and the migraine persists, there’s a possibility that it might be malaria or dengue and I had to go back the next day to get my blood checked. I was actually still hinging on the overeating theory but mother was worried so I had to monitor my temperature. Also, I was on bed rest the whole day.

Thursday came and I didn’t workout simply because I didn’t want to push the wrong buttons that might trigger a fever or a relapse since I was feeling a bit better sans the severe migraine (but I was still a bit nauseous). I went to work as normal and I was performing at half my usual due to my illness. I was thankful for an easy day. I was burping like crazy, though, and I had to evaluate a lot of food later that afternoon which triggered a bit more than the usual nausea and some more burping fits which was quite disturbing since they felt heavier and gassier. I knew I shouldn’t have eaten so much but I couldn’t stop myself.

Friday came and at 3 AM, I was greeted with diarrhea. It was fulfilling, in a sense, that my body was now reacting to my illness and it’s trying to help me by forcefully removing toxins and the crap that was causing my burping fits from my gut. It felt great to know that my body is trying to cure itself. I had another bout of diarrhea at around 5:15 AM then another at 6:10 AM. I seriously didn’t want to eat that morning but I knew my priorities and my body needed sustenance if it was to cure me so I ate anyway. Luckily, I didn’t have diarrhea at work and my head was a lot lighter and my burping fits weren’t so bad nor were they as consistent. I was probably 80% cured yesterday.

As of this writing, I’m feeling 100% as I was able to perform a 32kg kettlebell windmill on both arms twice to remind my body that we’re not weak and that we’re going to resume training tomorrow.

I plan on either performing windmills for 10 minutes and push-ups and pistol squats for the next 10 minutes tomorrow or the below exercise:

Using a pair of 24 kg kettlebells

3 x clean and press per set x 10 sets for 10 minutes

5 x squats per set x 10 sets for 10 minutes

I got the idea of the workout from Pat Flynn’s emails (I’m subscribed to the guy) although he recommends a separate day for 10 minutes of 5 x squats per set and 10 minutes of 5 x clean and press per set. For the squat, he recommends to go as heavy as possible and a pair of 24 kg for the clean and press. The workout above was personally done by me last Sunday and as mentioned above, I came from a no-kettlebell week so I ended up getting overworked that Sunday morning which resulted to a bad headache throughout the day. I also worked out after a 14-hour fast which is normally not so bad except my body wasn’t conditioned the whole week to perform an endurance and strength type of workout in one 20-minute session.

Moral of the blog? Don’t abuse your body. Eat well, train enough, and rest properly.

That’s it for now! See you on Christmas!

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Taking it slow but sure | The 9th Soul said, on December 18, 2014 at 12:47 pm

    […] regards to my previous bump blog, I decided to veer away from my program for a while. By veer I mean avoid so much speed workouts […]


Leave a Reply

