The 9th Soul

Book Review: Firefight by Brandon Sanderson (Reckoners #2)

Posted in entertainment, life by Fated Blue on January 25, 2015

Review of Steelheart a.k.a. Reckoners #1

This book came to me as a surprise. I finished reviewing this book and shortly realized I ran out of books to read. Well, good books for my taste.

I went about my usual day at the mall, browsing for books when I remembered Firefight was supposed to come out in January ( I read about it in my daily Goodreads newsletter) but I never really thought about looking for it yet since it was still just recently launched.

Nonetheless, my eyes widened when I saw the book glaring at me. Lo and behold, it was the last copy too as I took a few minutes looking for other copies just to see if I can grab a fresher book (I’m strict with book preservation). I didn’t even hesitate to buy this book. I immediately fell in line at the nearest cashier and moments later, I’m inside Starbucks reading this book fresh from the plastic. I’m not even afraid to admit that I sniff books particularly when old and newly bought.

With regards to my review, it will be quick and short as the time I have to type it down is not as long as I want it to be. It’s getting late here and I have work (and a workout) in the morning. I also have to play Civilization: Beyond Earth and I’m probably the country’s biggest Civ fan since I started playing Civilization III when I was just 10 years old.

To get things started, the book cover wasn’t as subtle compared to its predecessor. I normally don’t have any preferences to covers but I found Firefight’s cover (pictured above) a bit loud and too bright. Although it embodied action and a whole lot of fire, I always did prefer a bit of subtlety. Well, it’s just me anyway.

I found the character development going deeper as expected of a sequel. What I didn’t expect was how the story opted to let a few of the well known characters out of the story this time only to be replaced by new characters. They had interesting backgrounds but I really wished the whole team worked together in this book. Nonetheless, the new characters were well thought out though they may be short-lived. (And yes, that was a spoiler back there)

The plot of the story was deeper than the first. A lot of secrets and treachery in this one. One of the main Epics is a bit of a cuckoo head which miraculously lets the hero live as a form of gratitude and the other Epics weren’t all that scary or had some complicated weakness. Save for Regalia, this Epic is probably their smartest foe so far or maybe ever. The book, as I realized, was a lot bloodier this time around. Although Steelheart had its share of gruesome and realistic cruelty, this book displayed the blood stained hands of our heroes this time around.

The ending was a bit rushed for my taste but perhaps that’s what cliffhangers are all about.

Overall rating: 8.5/10 It didn’t exactly fail in becoming the successor to the book but it also didn’t surpass it on any counts. If anything, the book recycled a few of the first book’s great drivers but on a whole new setting which I found a bit forced. It’s still a good read and would still draw you in like any fast-paced book should but it may leave you disappointed after realizing the page you’ve read was the last.

Leave a Reply

