The 9th Soul

Book Review: It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini

Posted in health, health defects, life by Fated Blue on September 14, 2015

funnystory

I bought this book without knowing what it was really about. I figured the teaser at the back sounded promising as it seemed to introduce a bunch of quirky, not-so-cliche characters which many books seem to use nowadays. It was also interesting how it involved a story of a suicidal boy which reminded me of how interesting “Perks” was.

To be honest, the book was a bit slow and depressing when it started. I’m not a fan of depressing books so I guess that has to be a factor too. I actually planned on skipping this book for another but I figured it should get interesting as a friend of mine, whom I really think is cool when it comes to song and book interests, told me it was worth a read. And it was.

It picked up quick after Craig, the main character, entered the psych ward. I don’t want to spoil it but let’s just say that place, despite how most describe it as a place for the crazies, seemed to be the normal world we envision. A world filled with characters who express themselves freely, where no one gives a fuck about where you came from or what your problems are, and a world where people like each other just because they feel like they like each other. No strings, no prejudice.

The book was really great and I was hoping it would be longer but I guess the author decided to cut it off at just the right length. It was also interesting how the book contained the following at the last page:

Ned Vizzini spent five days in adult psychiatric

in Methodist Hospital, Park Slope, Brooklyn,

11/29/04 – 12/3/04.

Ned wrote this 12/10/04 – 1/6/05

Whether he wrote it himself or not, one thing’s for sure: this book envisioned his thoughts and emotions in deep manner. Perhaps this book was his own life story.

Overall: 8/10

I loved it but wouldn’t really recommend it to everyone. It has its audience and is quite selective at that.

Thank you Ned. May you rest in peace.

Favorite quote:

“People are screwed up in this world. I’d rather be with someone screwed up and open about it than somebody perfect and ready to explode.”

Leave a Reply

