The 9th Soul

Oscars 2016: Too Much Race Talk But At Least Leo Won!

Posted in entertainment, politics, weather by Fated Blue on February 29, 2016

I don’t really watch stuff like this since I’m not much of  a movie person myself but I do like to keep tabs on select actors and actresses and this year we all knew it was Leo’s time to shine. Here are my two huge cents on the this year’s Academy awards.

The Good

I’m really happy for Leo bagging his first Oscar ever and his really awesome speech on raising environmental awareness.

Like, how can you not want to plant trees after that speech?

leonardo-dicaprio-435

Leo giving everyone the finger! (image courtesy of People.com)

 

In all its entirety, Leo you are a citizen of the world and the world respects you not just as an actor but as its protector and ambassador. Keep fighting the good fight!

By the way, with that win, half the memes that were created in the last 24 hours, as well as all other old memes, are now invalid! A new era of meme making has now arrived!

1393884189450_gatsby-

Here’s the full transcript courtesy of Bustle:

Thank you all so very much. Thank you to the Academy, thank you to all of you in this room. I have to congratulate the other incredible nominees this year. ‘The Revenant’ was the product of the tireless efforts of an unbelievable cast and crew. First off, to my brother in this endeavor, Mr. Tom Hardy. Tom, your talent on screen can only be surpassed by your friendship off screen… thank you for creating a transcendent cinematic experience. Thank you to everybody at Fox and New Regency…my entire team. I have to thank everyone from the very onset of my career… To my parents, none of this would be possible without you. And to my friends, I love you dearly, you know who you are.

And lastly I just want to say this: Making ‘The Revenant’ was about man’s relationship to the natural world. A world that we collectively felt in 2015 as the hottest year in recorded history. Our production needed to move to the southern tip of this planet just to be able to find snow. Climate change is real, it is happening right now. It is the most urgent threat facing our entire species, and we need to work collectively together and stop procrastinating.

We need to support leaders around the world who do not speak for the big polluters, but who speak for all of humanity, for the indigenous people of the world, for the billions and billions of underprivileged people out there who would be most affected by this. For our children’s children, and for those people out there whose voices have been drowned out by the politics of greed.

I thank you all for this amazing award tonight. Let us not take this planet for granted. I do not take tonight for granted. Thank you so very much.

For the list of winner and nominees, click here.

The Bad

I’m not a Chris Rock fan. I was specially when he was still focusing on stand up comedy and sketches on TV but as a host? Nope. I think he tried to be too funny that it ended up laughably awful specially with that “Asian” joke. We know he meant well but he didn’t have to get a laugh at the expense of kids, you know. I mean, those kids didn’t even look like they were aware they were being used as joke material. Just look at them:

 

Like, WTF Chris? A lot of funnier race jokes out there and you chose child labor.

On a positive note, the Oscars were almost all about MAD MAX. Not that it wasn’t a good film but I think there was a solid hour where Mad Max was the only movie that won anything. In fact, it ended up being joked about by our favorite Louis C.K.

He proved to be a better host in under 5 minutes that Chris Rock did in almost 4 hours. I mean, that MAD MAX quip was definitely short, sweet, and spontaneous! I want him for next year’s awards night and I’m sure the world agrees with me.

The (REALLY) Ugly

I don’t normally watch shows like this unless my team of actors and actresses are nominated for something. Needless to say, with all the racial controversy surrounding the Oscars, I didn’t really think they can pull it off tonight. To be honest, I really think they didn’t pull it off tonight save for Leo winning.

I think the Oscars tried to overcompensate the lack of diversity in such a way that it was cringey, awkward, and desperate. From the host to the presenters, even the short sketches and the ending theme song was all about #blacklivesmatter.

What’s worse is social media giant Huffington Post kept on bringing up the race card on and on during the program as if they didn’t do it enough already. We get it, statistically the Oscars suck for minorities but who’s to say it was all about race?

We feel for our brothers and sisters in the minority demographic in the U.S. but how will you destroy racism if you keep bringing it up? Not to say that we should forget about it but if we always prioritize minorities in everything then wouldn’t that be a form of racism as well? We can’t just throw out entitlement because someone’s ancestors were treated poorly a long time ago.

If I were a black guy who was treated “special” for my race then that would be an insult. I’m just as human as you are so why are you all afraid of getting ahead of me or not letting me know if I’m upsetting you?

If we want to keep it real then let’s begin to look at this awards program from a not-about-race lens and try to be objective at the moment. It’s the only way to eliminate that word which should not be uttered during an awards program.

Leave a Reply

